I am responsible.

2.12.12

“I am responsible for what I see. I choose the feelings I experience, and I decide upon the goal I would achieve. And everything that seems to happen to me I ask for, and receive as I have asked.” A Course in Miracles.

This is one of those tenets in the Course that must be learned. It is difficult sometimes to understand that we get what we are suppose to get but after a while you realize that it is true. When ever I have been dealt a blow in my life, it seems I always bounce back stronger and better then before. At the time, I feel that my world is falling apart but after I walk through it I realize that I am better off for going through it.

What is happening to our economy right now is a great example of what I mean. I have no doubt that after we finish this slump we will all be better off because of it. Not that we feel that way now. I know for myself I have had to look at what is really important in my live. The House. The cars, the Restaurants, The clothes all of these really do not define me. My house is bigger then I need, I have more cars then I need, I go out to dinner more then I need to, and I have so much clothes that I probably do not need to purchase anything for the next thee years. That is what this down economy has taught me. I want to sell my cars. I want to downsize my home and I want to start cooking again.

All of these material things do not make you happier, so why have them? Living in this material world can be a challenge. Everywhere you look someone is trying to sell you something. I went to a mall today, my wife had to exchange something. The number of people shopping in the mall struck me. It looked like Christmas or something. Going to the mall has become an outing for families. Something to do on a Sunday afternoon , which is Crazy. It was a beautiful sunny day in Miami and people are rushing to the mall. Help.

Peace

Leave a Reply

